A step in the right direction in choosing judges

Personally, I remain skeptical of electing judges. Prior to entering the legal profession, I saw judges names on the ballet and I had no idea who they were or why one would be better than the other. Many times I simply did not vote for either. I suspect many voters have the same experience. Actually, most judicial races in Fayette County and accross the state are unopposed races.

I would prefer to see Kentucky’s judges appointed in a manner similar to Federal judges but with term limits. This reduces the possibility of large financial donors from having inappropriate influence over that judges later decisions. I am in the minority with this view but here is an editorial by former Kentucky Supreme Court Justice Jim Keller that offers a great step in the right direction entitled “A better way to choose Ky. judges”.

This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

