Protecting the poor

This is an excellent quote posted by Lawreader from Miller v. Commonwealth, 270 Ky. 378 (KY, 1937):

    Indeed, it is, for the poor, the lowly, and the helpless, that governments and courts have been set up and laws have been written. The great and mighty have little need for these. They would perhaps be greater and mightier without them, than with them, but the poor and lowly would be utterly wretched without them. The more helpless you are the higher you stand in the favor of the courts

This reflects an aspect of the pursuit of justice that I hoped to capture with this weblog. I interviewed for one of the largest firms in Lousville for a summer internship and asked how they treated pro bono work. The interviewer told me they were far to busy to do pro bono work and so it was not a consideration. I’m sure there are some large firms that do a fair share of pro bono service but I suspect it is the small firms and solo practitioners that do the greatest share. If anyone has statistics on this, please let me know.

This entry was posted in Life & Law, Solo & Small Firm, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Protecting the poor

  1. jodi says:

    I don’t have any statistics, but I think you’re probably right. It seems to me the big firms are too “firmish” (can’t get past the secretary/paralegal/assistant).

    I’d be interested in seeing stats on this too if anyone has them to share!

Leave a Reply

